Unpacking my library

Ever wanted to know Peter Eisenman or Stephen Holl have on their bookshelves at home? Well now you can – sort of. The Municipal Art Society of New York is currently holding  an exhibition called “Unpacking My Library: 10 Architects & Their Books”. The exhibition features a different New York architect and their book collection every month — beginning with Peter Eisenmann in May,  and currently features the books of Toshiko Mori. The aim of the exhibition is to provides an archival snap-shot of architecture at the beginning of the 21st century. The exhibit captures a representative cross-section of these notable libraries, mapping the intellectual and emotional terrain of present-day architects and scholars.

A book based on the exhibit will be released later this year by Yale University Press.

With all my books packed away as I am in between houses, it made me think what books I would submit to this kind of exhibition. For an architect, I don’t have that many architectural books, so you would probably much of the fiction that I enjoy. Books by Jose Saramago, Irvine Welsh and Nick Hornby would be prominent along my collection of football related books (I have more of those than architectural books).

(via Arch Daily)

Leave a Reply

