Combined train of thought

You would have to say that in recent years Cox Architects’ Melbourne office sure has stepped it up a notch in terms of design and have or in the process of putting some serious landmarks on the city’s landscape. I am a massive fan of the under construction Rectangular Stadium (partly because I am a football nut), but their recently completed redevelopment of North Melbourne railway station is also worthy of mention. Since I have moved to Yarraville I get to experience the station on a daily basis and I have say that I am very impressed. It is an excellent blending of the old and the new which I hope my poor photography skills illustrate. If not, go have a look yourself. This successful upgrading of a tired station surely puts pressure on the State Government to seriously consider upgrading Melbourne’s other “gateway” station, Richmond, which now is definitely the poorer cousin.

Leave a Reply

